Shield crest for Cambridge program

The Advanced International Certificate of Education

What is the AICE Diploma?

The Cambridge Advanced International Certificate of Education (AICE) Diploma is an international curriculum and examination system that emphasizes the value of broad and balanced study. Alongside in-depth understanding of a variety of subjects, students also need to master a broader range of skills critical for success in university study and employment.

The Cambridge AICE Diploma was first awarded in 1997 and has since become popular with a range of schools in different parts of the world. It encompasses the ‘gold standard’ of Cambridge International AS and A Level qualifications, and offers students the opportunity to tailor their studies to their individual interests, abilities and future plans within an international curriculum framework.

The AICE Diploma does not replace the Standard or Advanced Diploma awarded by the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Please visit Cambridge's AICE Diploma website for detailed information on this prestigious award. 

AICE Diploma Qualifications

Learners must achieve a minimum of seven credits (including Cambridge International AS Level Global Perspectives & Research) from subject groups 1, 2 and 3 (and optionally Group 4) to be awarded the Diploma. Learners must:

Obtain 1 Cambridge Unit from AS Level Global Perspectives & Research*
Obtain 6 Cambridge Units, including at least 1 from Groups 1, 2, and 3 (Group 4 is optional):
Group 1: Mathematics and Sciences
Group 2: Languages
Group 3: Arts and Humanities
Group 4: Interdisciplinary/Skills Based Subjects (Optional)

*To achieve the Diploma, all learners will need to study and pass the revised Cambridge International AS Level Global Perspectives & Research (9239).

Have questions about the AICE Diploma? Contact Matthew Carbo, Cambridge Program Coordinator (